Eight guiding principles for caring technology

Wherever technology is used to improve people’s health-related quality of life in their daily lives and their wellbeing, the guiding principles set out below can offer guidance on how to act:

Promote humane technology and citizen-centred data management

1

Ensure that the role of technology and use of data always facilitate and support people and that they remain at the service of people and society. Maximise opportunities for citizens to make their own decisions based on their care needs, support requirements and health-related wishes.

2

Encourage ongoing collaboration among all the actors involved, through the creation of an integrated technological ecosystem in which interoperability, standardised protocols and open-source (basic) technology are all self-evident. Support patients and citizens to allow them to participate optimally in the development and adoption of this ecosystem.

3

Provide honest, reliable, transparent and easily understandable information about innovations in care and health. Make sure people are able to make choices in a truly informed and independent way (true consent) by objectively representing the usefulness, scope, pros and cons of innovations so that people can have confidence in the products they choose.

Support societal anchoring

4

Improve trust between people and organisations in regard to the use of data and data-driven innovations, by allowing them to have ownership of their own data. Support citizens to share these data safely and use it to leverage their own personal well-being and promote the public interest.

5

Promote technological literacy, health skills and participation among all citizens. Make lifelong learning for all a goal. Ensure that no-one is left behind, including vulnerable and underprivileged people and those needing special attention. Innovation should be focused on reducing both the digital gap and the health gap rather than further widening them.

Stimulate participatory governance

6

Develop participative and adaptive governance for the innovation system. Encourage citizens and stakeholders to participate actively in this. Make flexible but effective adjustments to policy on the basis of new data, experience, evidence and growing expertise.

Monitor quality and systemic coherence

7

Develop quality assurance systems for the whole innovation trajectory, i.e. cover the periods before, during and after the development and deployment of technology and the use of data. There must be controls on the content, safety, transparency of information, and on its traceability, usefulness and effectiveness. Knowledge gained through experience must have a place alongside scientific evidence. Introduce quality labels to communicate the results of these controls and assessments.

8

Monitor and evaluate to ensure that the actions taken remain coherent with health and care goals within wider frameworks of prevention, ethics and sustainability. Integrate sustainability objectives and appropriate ethical principles (e.g. human rights) in the innovation growth pathway.

Discover the 8 principles in this animation

I would like to sign up to these principles!

I,
(This is only for verification)
sign up to these principles for caring technology

Huit principes directeurs pour une technologie saine à dimension humaine (‘caring technology’)

Lorsque l’on recourt à la technologie afin d’améliorer la qualité de vie liée à la santé des personnes dans leur vie quotidienne, il est important de veiller aux principes directeurs suivants pour guider notre action :

Promouvoir une technologie humaine et une gestion des données au service du citoyen

1

S’assurer que la technologie et l’utilisation des données conservent un rôle de facilitation et de soutien, qu’elles soient bien au service des gens et de la société. Maximaliser la possibilité pour les citoyens de prendre leurs propres décisions en fonction de leurs besoins en aide et en soins et de leurs souhaits en matière de santé.

2

Encourager une collaboration continue entre tous les acteurs en créant un écosystème technologique intégré dans lequel l’interopérabilité, les protocoles normalisés et une technologie de base en open source vont de soi. Aider les patients et les citoyens à participer de manière optimale à l’éclosion et au déploiement de cet écosystème.

3

Délivrer des informations honnêtes, fiables, transparentes et compréhensibles sur les innovations en matière de soins et de santé. Veiller à ce que les personnes puissent poser des choix en toute autonomie et connaissance de cause (consentement véritable) en dépeignant objectivement l’utilité, l’applicabilité, les avantages et les inconvénients des innovations. Les gens doivent pouvoir avoir confiance dans les produits qu’ils adoptent.

Soutenir l’ancrage sociétal

4

Renforcer la confiance des individus et des organisations dans l’utilisation des données et la conception d’innovations qui en exploitent le principe en leur garantissant la propriété sur leurs propres données. Aider les citoyens à partager leurs données en toute sécurité et à les employer comme un levier pour leur bien-être personnel et pour l’intérêt général.

5

Promouvoir la littératie technologique, les compétences en santé et la participation de tous les citoyens. S’engager en faveur de l’éducation permanente pour tous. Veiller à ce que tout le monde soit impliqué, en ce compris les personnes vulnérables et défavorisées et celles qui réclament une attention plus particulière. L’innovation doit se concentrer sur la réduction des fossés numériques et sanitaires, pas contribuer à leur aggravation.

Encourager une gouvernance participative

6

Développer une gouvernance participative et adaptative du système d’innovation. Encourager les citoyens et les stakeholders à s’impliquer activement. Ajuster les politiques de manière souple mais néanmoins vigoureuse, sur la base des données, de l’expérience, de preuves et d’une expertise croissante.

Monitorer la qualité et la cohérence du système

7

Elaborer des systèmes d’assurance qualité du processus d’innovation, c.-à-d. avant, pendant et après le développement de la technologie, l’utilisation des données et l’implémentation de la technologie. Le contrôle doit porter sur le contenu, la sécurité, la transparence des informations, la traçabilité, l’utilité et l’efficacité. Les leçons de l’expérience doivent aller de pair avec les preuves scientifiques. Introduire des labels de qualité, et diffuser les résultats des contrôles et évaluations.

8

Monitorer les actions et vérifier qu’elles restent cohérentes avec les objectifs fixés en matière de santé et de soins dans un cadre plus large de prévention, d’éthique et de durabilité. Intégrer des objectifs de durabilité et des principes éthiques appropriés (par exemple, les droits de l’homme) dans la voie de la croissance de l’innovation.

Découvrez les 8 principes de cette animation

Je souscris à ces principes :

(Exclusivement pour vérification)
Je souscris à ces principes pour une technologie saine à dimension humaine (‘caring technology’)